Philippine Embassy Attends 2020 Anna Lindh Lecture Lund University, Sweden

Philippine Embassy Attends 2020 Anna Lindh Lecture Lund University, Sweden

Ambassador Jocelyn Batoon-Garcia with Council of Europe’s Commissioner for Human Rights Dunja Mijatović during the reception after the 2020 Anna Lindh Lecture

20 January 2020, Lund, Sweden - The Philippine Embassy in Oslo led by Ambassador Jocelyn Batoon-Garcia attended the 2020 Anna Lindh Lecture held at the University Auditorium of Lund University in Sweden. Lund University and the Raoul Wallenberg Institute invited Dunja Mijatovic, Commissioner for Human Rights, Council of Europe, to give the 2020 Anna Lindh Lecture. Ms. Mijatović delivered a candid assessment of the human rights situation in Europe and how it is changing European societies. She discussed the problems being faced by many European countries which has an impact on the implementation of core human rights instruments and the challenges that states, human rights defenders and advocates are facing amid radical political changes in Europe. Commissioner Mijatović also discussed the way forward to address human rights issues in Europe and is hopeful that states, and the human rights institutions tasked to protect human rights of all peoples of Europe will be able to give real meaning to the core human rights treaties, mainly the European Convention on Human Rights.

The Anna Lindh Lecture was first organized in 2005. It pays homage to the Swedish Minister for Foreign Affairs who was assassinated in 2003. Since then, Lund University and the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law have taken the initiative of highlighting human rights matters through an annual public lecture to be given by a distinguished scholar, politician, diplomat or international top level civil servant.

Before the lecture, Ambassador Batoon-Garcia also attended a short briefing about Lund University given by Vice-Chancellor Professor Torbjorn von Schantz, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Sylvia Schwaag Serger and the chair of the University Board Jonas Hafström. End

Filed under