Alan Peter Schramm Cayetano

BIRTHDAY October 28, 1970
CIVIL STATUS Married to Taguig City Mayor Ma. Laarni Lopez-Cayetano
PARENTS Former Senator Renato “Rene” “Companero” Cayetano
Sandra Schramm Cayetano
SIBLINGS Taguig Congresswoman Pilar Juliana “Pia” Cayetano
Rene Carl Cayetano
Lino Edgardo Cayetano



POST GRADUATE Juris Doctor, Ateneo School of Law
Graduated in 1997
2nd Honors (Silver Medalist)

COLLEGE B.A. Political Science
Graduated in 1993
University of the Philippines
Diliman, Quezon City

HIGHSCHOOL De La Salle Zobel


17TH •Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations
CONGRESS •Chairman, Committee on Agrarian Reform
JULY 2016-PRESENT •Member, Commission on Appointments
•Authored Republic Act No. 10923, postponing the October 2016 Barangay and Sangguniang
Kabataan Elections
•Authored and co-sponsored the bill extending the validity of the Philippine passport to ten (10) years,
and the resolutions concurring in the ratification/accession to the Articles of Agreement of the
Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), the Japan-Philippine Agreement on Social Security, and the
Paris Agreement on Climate Change
•Filed Senate bills: Trust Fund for the Abandoned, Neglected or Voluntarily Committed Child; Philippine
National Police Compensation Act; Freedom of Information Act; Emergency Response Department Act;
Mindanao Peace and Development Act; Additional Support and Compensation for Educators Act; Act
Amending the Cybercrime Prevention Law; Uniformed Personnel Health and Wellness Development Act;
Children with Special Needs Education Fund Act; Cigarette Floor Price Act; Freedom from Traffic and
Congestion Act; Department of Foreign Employment Act; Adjusting the Compulsory Retirement Age for
Uniformed Officers and Enlisted Men; Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Act

16TH Senate Majority Floor Leader
JULY 2013 - JUNE 2016 •Chairman, Committee on Rules
•Vice Chairman, Committee on Agriculture
•Member, Commission on Appointments
•Authored R.A. No. 10648 otherwise known as the “Iskolar ng Bayan Act of 2014”


15TH Senate Minority Floor Leader
CONGRESS •Chairman, Committee on Ethics and Privileges
JULY 2010 - JUNE 2013 •Vice Chairman, Joint Congressional Oversight Committee on the Automated Election System
•Commended by the Senate under Resolutions 46 and 94 for his efforts as Minority Leader in
championing the cause of orphaned, abandoned children, and vulnerable workers; and valuable
contribution in the enactment of crucial legislation and resolutions
•Actively participated in investigations pushing for the resolution of the alleged poll fraud cases
of 2004 & 2007
•Conducted hearings on the reliability of the “3crown jewels” of the 2013 automated elections –
machine, ballot, and transmission.

CONGRESS •Elected as the 8th Senator of the Republic of the Philippines
NOVEMBER 2008-JUNE •Chairman, Committee on Mass Media and Information
2010 •Filed the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act which was approved on its 3rd reading and
passed in the Senate during the 14th Congress
JULY 2007 -NOVEMBER •Chairman, Blue Ribbon / Committee on Accountability of Public Officers and Investigations
2008 •Headed the investigation of the NBN-ZTE deal
•Steered the continuation of the Fertilizer Fund Scam investigation
•Steered the continuation of the investigation of the Cash giving scandal in Malacanang
•Chairman, Committee on Education, Culture and Arts
•Passed RA 9500: University of the Philippines Charter Act of 2008
•Initiated efforts to make educational loans and scholarships more responsive and easily
accessible to deserving students
•Sought more funding for basic and tertiary education
•Fought for better compensation for public school teachers

13TH Re-elected Representative (3rd term) of the Lone District of Taguig-Pateros
CONGRESS •Senior Deputy Minority Leader
JULY 2004 - JUNE 2007 •Ex Officio member of all standing House committees
•Spokesperson, Impeachment Team (2005 and 2006)

12TH •Re-elected Representative of the Lone District of Taguig-Pateros
CONGRESS •Deputy Majority Leader
JULY 2001 - JUNE 2004 •Vice-Chairman, Committee on Rules

NOVEMBER 2001 - •Member, Judicial and Bar Council
APRIL 2003

11TH •Elected Representative of the Lone District of Taguig-Pateros
CONGRESS •Assistant Majority Leader
JULY 1998-JUNE 2001 •Member, Committee of Rules
•Chairman, Oversight Committee on Bases Conversion
•Vice-Chairman, Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms
•Chairman, Sub-Committee on New Schools, Committee on Basic Education
•Columnist, Compañero y Compañera (People’s Tonight)

1995 - 1998 •Elected Vice-Mayor of the Municipality of Taguig, Metro Manila


1992-1995 •Elected Number One Councilor, Municipality of Taguig (during that time, one of the youngest councilors in the
•Majority Floor Leader, Municipal Council, Taguig, Metro Manila
•Officer and Member of Various Special Local Bodies:
Vice-Chairman, People’s Law Enforcement Board
Member, Municipal Peace and Order Council
Member, Municipal Disaster Coordinating Council
•Chairman and Member of Various Legislative Committees

1992-1993 •Chairman, NCR Chapter of the National Movement of Young Legislators


2010 •Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) 2010 awardee
•Recognized for his exemplary work in government and public service

Filed under: